Restaurant: Papa John’s Pizza (Seoul, Korea)

Papa John’s Pizza • Seoul, Korea

Category: Pizza

Rating:  (2)

After eating what was probably the worst delivery pizza in my life, I decided I still needed to take care of my craving for a pizza.  While Papa John’s is nowhere near the epitome of what a great pizza should be, I figured it was a safe choice as I didn’t want to take a chance on another local choice.

Being disappointed by the previous “Large” designation, this time I decided to go one size up and get the “Family” size and this time I ordered an “All Meat Pizza” for delivery for the tidy sum of about $40USD.  About 40 minutes later, I anxiously answered the door and saw to my bewilderment, a box that was nearly identical in size to the Heim pizza box.  Inside the box were, again, two small packages of those overly sweet pickles and a small package of the familiar “Garlic Butter Sauce”.  Since I had the previous Heim pizza box, I put the two boxes up and the Papa John’s Pizza box was indeed larger… by one inch.

As for the pizza itself, it was an improvement over the Heim pizza but even though Papa John’s is a chain, it was no match for the US version.  While I would give the US Papa John’s “All Meat Pizza” about a  (4) rating depending on location, this pizza again was much drier and the cheese more dense than the US counterpart.  It’s almost as if they leached out all of the natural oils and grease that forms from the meats and cheese.

I have given up on trying to find a good pizza here in Seoul.  Alas I have a major craving for a good NY pizza such as those from L&B Spumoni Garden or Lombardi’s.

Again, sorry about the bad picture quality as it was once again taken with my cell phone.

~ by TYR Photo on January 4, 2012.

One Response to “Restaurant: Papa John’s Pizza (Seoul, Korea)”

  1. […] You can read about my experience in a previous blog posting here. […]

Leave a comment