Same Ingredient, Two Dishes…

One of the challenges I face as a Chef is handling dietary restrictions and allergies with my guests.  As the Private Executive Chef for the U.S. Ambassador to South Korea, most of the times these restrictions are given to me in advance by way of a memo from the Embassy so that I can create menus around them or to simply create a special menu for that guest in the case of vegetarians or vegans.

However, on certain occasions, I’m notified verbally at the last minute.  Such was the occasion not too long ago where a personal guest had a wheat allergy.  The “amuse bouche” or “small bite” that started off the dinner was planned as a “Blue Crab Cake Croquette” but since the outer coating was panko bread crumbs that contain wheat, I had to work around it and create a one-off dish for that guest.

“Blue Crab Cake Croquette w/ Wasabi Aioli”

Not having time to prepare something time consuming, the last minute decision was made to just take the fresh claw meat and make a terrine like tower with precise cut claws.

“Blue Crab Claws w/ Wasabi Aioli”

~ by TYR Photo on April 21, 2014.

Leave a comment