Pinot Noir…

Of all the wines, my favorite variety has to be Pinot Noir.  It’s a grape that is often best grown in cooler regions and one that is very temperamental and requires high maintenance.  It’s a wine that is known for it’s light to medium body with cherry and raspberry bouquet in the broadest terms.  There seems to be a broader range of flavors from different vineyards of Pinot Noir than any other grapes due to the complexity of growing Pinot Noir.  It’s also true that it’s harder to grow Pinot Noir versus other grapes and therefore harder to find good examples of lower cost Pinot Noir wines versus say a Cabernet Sauvignon or a Chardonnay.

Pinot Noir is chiefly associated with the Burgundy region of France although Willamette Valley in Oregon has been producing some outstanding Pinot Noir due to the optimal climate of that region.  Also of interest is that Pinot Noir is one of the grapes used to produce Champagne.

The movie Sideways in 2004 did a lot to bring awareness or at the very least pique the interest of many consumers in trying Pinot Noir and I believe all Pinot Noir vineyards should owe thanks for raising the popularity and discovering something outside of Cabernet Sauvignons and Merlots.

This week I purchased six different bottles to sample and so far I’ve sampled the Rascal, Cupcake and Ranch 32.  There’s also one more, from Keller Estates, that I’ve sampled but unfortunately I didn’t get to photograph.  Once I’ve sampled the Sean Minor and the Napa Cellars, I’ll be updating this post with my thoughts and opinions especially in comparison to one of my favorite Pinto Noirs that is affordable which is a 2008 Cloudline from Oregon.

UPDATE: September 3, 2012

I was able to sample the 2010 Sean Minor Carneros Pinot Noir this past Friday and was astoundingly surprised how good it was given it’s price of under $15.  It has a nice fragrant bouquet of strawberries, cherries and oak.  Those aromas are supported in the overall flavor profile with a nice medium body and a soft, velvety finish with just enough tannins to support the flavors.  A great buy at it’s given price and one that I will continue to purchase for my home.

~ by TYR Photo on August 22, 2012.

Leave a comment